For most dogs, Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpkin & Cinnamon are my best overall pick: the 16-ounce box makes them a practical everyday biscuit, while their crunchy format suits dogs who enjoy a firmer treat. Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats stand out for shoppers seeking grain-free, human-grade biscuits, and Bocce’s Bakery Pumpkin Spice is a softer option for dogs who prefer a chewy bite. The main tradeoffs are texture, ingredient priorities, package size, and whether you want pumpkin on its own or paired with flavors such as cinnamon, peanut butter, or chicken. A pumpkin-focused name alone does not tell you how a treat fits your dog’s diet or chewing style. Read on for my full comparison and a guide to choosing the right biscuit for your needs.
Get pet supplies delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Complete the kit
Key Takeaways
- Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpkin & Cinnamon lead for everyday use because their 16-ounce package offers a straightforward crunchy-biscuit format; dogs needing a soft bite may be better matched with Bocce’s Bakery.
- Portland Pet Food’s 5-ounce pumpkin biscuits are the distinct choice for shoppers prioritizing grain-free and human-grade positioning, but their smaller package is less suited to households seeking a larger everyday supply.
- The Farmer’s Dog Peanut Butter & Pumpkin biscuits pair pumpkin with peanut butter, while Pawmate combines pumpkin biscuits with chicken wrapping—useful distinctions for dogs with flavor preferences, but more ingredients to check against dietary restrictions.
- Portland Pet Food’s three-pack formats offer a way to choose between repeat pumpkin batches and a variety assortment; the variety pack gives less flavor consistency than buying pumpkin-only biscuits.
- Texture and format vary as much as flavor: Bocce’s Bakery is soft and chewy, while Blue Buffalo and several other picks are crunchy, so a dog’s chewing comfort can matter more than the pumpkin recipe.
| Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats – Grain-Free, Human-Grade Biscuits, 5 oz | ![]() | Best for Training and Sensitive Diets | Weight: 5 oz | Ingredients: Pumpkin, garbanzo bean flour, peanut butter, molasses, cinnamon | Diet type: Vegan | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpkin & Cinnamon Dog Biscuits, 16 oz | ![]() | Best for a Classic Crunch | Weight: 16 oz | Flavor: Pumpkin & cinnamon | Form: Wafer | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog Treats, 11 oz | ![]() | Best for a Short Ingredient List | Weight: 11.04 oz | Flavor: Pumpkin | Ingredient count: Six ingredients | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| The Farmer’s Dog Human-Grade Crunchy Dog Biscuits, Peanut Butter & Pumpkin | ![]() | Best for Calorie-Conscious Rewards | Weight: 10 oz | Flavor: Peanut butter & pumpkin | Calories per biscuit: 9 | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits Dog Treats, Pumpkin, 16 oz | ![]() | Best for a Large Pumpkin-Only Bag | Weight: 16 oz | Flavor: Pumpkin | Ingredient count: Six ingredients, as described | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Pawmate Dog Treats Chicken Wrapped Pumpkin Biscuits 10.6 oz | ![]() | Best for Chewy Dental Rewards | Brand: Pawmate | Flavor: Chicken & Pumpkin Biscuit | Form: Stick | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats, Grain-Free Biscuits 3 Pack | ![]() | Best for Simple Pumpkin Training Treats | Brand: Portland Pet Food | Flavor: Pumpkin | Package: 3-pack | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Portland Pet Food Dog Treats Variety, Healthy, Grain-Free Biscuits, 3 Pack | ![]() | Best for Flavor Variety | Flavor assortment: Pumpkin, gingerbread, bacon | Package quantity: 3 packs | Bag size: 5 oz each | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Bocce’s Bakery Pumpkin Spice Flavor Soft & Chewy Dog Treats, 6 oz | ![]() | Best Soft Pumpkin Treat | Brand: Bocce’s Bakery | Flavor: Pumpkin Spice | Texture and form: Soft and chewy chunks | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| Wag Expedition Organic Dog Biscuits with Pumpkin & Chia Seed, 10 oz | ![]() | Best for a Short, Plant-Based Ingredient List | Brand: WAG | Flavor: Pumpkin & Chia Seed | Package size: 10 oz | VIEW LATEST PRICE | See Our Full Breakdown |
| pumpkin dog biscuit | Flavor | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog | — | 5 oz |
| Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpk | Pumpkin & cinnamon | 16 oz |
| Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog | Pumpkin | 11.04 oz |
| The Farmer’s Dog Human-Grade C | Peanut butter & pumpkin | 10 oz |
| Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscu | Pumpkin | 16 oz |
| Pawmate Dog Treats Chicken Wra | Chicken & Pumpkin Biscuit | — |
| Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog | Pumpkin | — |
| Portland Pet Food Dog Treats V | — | — |
| Bocce’s Bakery Pumpkin Spice F | Pumpkin Spice | — |
| Wag Expedition Organic Dog Bis | Pumpkin & Chia Seed | — |
More Details on Our Top Picks
Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats – Grain-Free, Human-Grade Biscuits, 5 oz
Portland Pet Food’s pumpkin biscuits are the strongest fit here for owners seeking a grain-free, limited-ingredient reward they can portion during training. The recipe uses pumpkin, garbanzo bean flour, peanut butter, molasses, and cinnamon, and the treats are described as low-calorie, though the calorie count is not provided. Compared with Blue Buffalo Health Bars, this option avoids grains; compared with Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog Treats, its ingredient list is specified rather than summarized as six ingredients. That makes it easier to check the listed components, but peanuts are an allergen and the pumpkin flavor may not win over every dog. The 5-ounce pouch is portable and resealable, though its roughly 36 treats offer less overall quantity than the 16-ounce options. The biscuits may also be too hard for some small or senior dogs.
Pros:- Uses a short, named ingredient list with real pumpkin.
- Grain-free, gluten-free, and vegan-friendly.
- Described as low-calorie, making frequent rewards a potential fit.
- Resealable 5-ounce pouch is convenient for travel and freshness.
Cons:- Contains peanuts, so it is unsuitable for dogs with that allergy.
- Firm texture may be difficult for some small or senior dogs.
- Smaller package contains approximately 36 treats and comes in limited flavors.
Best for: Owners of dogs who need grain-free, limited-ingredient treats for frequent training rewards and prefer a resealable pouch.
Not ideal for: Dogs with peanut allergies, dogs that reject pumpkin flavor, or seniors and small dogs who struggle with firm biscuits.
- Weight:5 oz
- Ingredients:Pumpkin, garbanzo bean flour, peanut butter, molasses, cinnamon
- Diet type:Vegan
- Allergen information:Peanuts
- Approximate treat count:36
- Made in:USA
- Packaging:Resealable, travel-friendly pouch
Our verdict“Choose this pouch for portable, grain-free pumpkin training rewards, but skip it if your dog needs a softer biscuit or must avoid peanuts.”
Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpkin & Cinnamon Dog Biscuits, 16 oz
Blue Buffalo Health Bars suit buyers who want a familiar, oven-baked pumpkin-and-cinnamon biscuit in a larger bag. Their crunchy wafer form offers a different reward from the softer styles elsewhere in the roundup, while the 16-ounce size provides more treats on hand than Portland Pet Food’s 5-ounce pouch. The listed allergen claims exclude corn, gluten, and soy, but the product information also says it contains wheat and grains, so it is not a grain-free choice. That distinction matters for dogs whose diets restrict grains. Blue Buffalo lists suitability for all life stages and breed sizes, though no calorie figure is supplied, making portion planning less precise than with The Farmer’s Dog Peanut Butter & Pumpkin biscuits, which state 9 calories per biscuit. Pick these for crunch and a larger bag, not for calorie tracking or grain avoidance.
Pros:- Oven-baked wafer texture gives dogs a crunchy biscuit.
- Pumpkin and cinnamon provide a distinct flavor combination.
- 16-ounce bag offers more quantity than Portland Pet Food’s 5-ounce pouch.
- Listed for all life stages and breed sizes.
Cons:- Contains wheat and grains, despite corn-free, gluten-free, and soy-free claims.
- No calorie information is provided for portion planning.
- Limited flavor variety.
Best for: Households looking for a larger bag of crunchy pumpkin-and-cinnamon biscuits for dogs without a grain restriction.
Not ideal for: Owners managing a wheat or grain-sensitive diet, or anyone who needs stated calories for precise treat budgeting.
- Weight:16 oz
- Flavor:Pumpkin & cinnamon
- Form:Wafer
- Texture:Oven-baked and crunchy
- Age range:All life stages
- Breed size:All breed sizes
- Allergen claims:Corn-free, gluten-free, soy-free; product information also notes wheat and grains
- Container type:Bag
Our verdict“Pick Blue Buffalo for a larger supply of crunchy pumpkin-and-cinnamon biscuits if grains are acceptable for your dog.”
Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog Treats, 11 oz
Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog Treats stand out for their six-ingredient recipe and clear exclusions of wheat, corn, and soy. That makes them a useful middle ground between Blue Buffalo Health Bars, which contain wheat and grains, and Portland Pet Food’s grain-free biscuits, which list peanuts among their ingredients. Merrick’s plant-based recipe is oven-baked for a crunchy finish, so it is better suited to dogs that enjoy firm biscuits than to pets needing a soft chew. The 11-ounce bag is larger than Portland’s 5-ounce pouch but smaller than the 16-ounce Blue Buffalo and Wholesome Pride bags. One practical drawback is packaging: the bag is reported as non-resealable, so keeping the treats fresh after opening may take extra effort. The product is described as high in protein, but a specific protein amount is not supplied.
Pros:- Recipe is described as containing only six natural ingredients, including pumpkin.
- Free of wheat, corn, and soy according to the product information.
- Oven-baked crunchy texture suits dogs who prefer crisp biscuits.
- 11-ounce bag provides more quantity than Portland Pet Food’s 5-ounce option.
Cons:- Reportedly non-resealable bag may make freshness harder to maintain.
- Crunchy form may not suit dogs that need a softer treat.
- Only pumpkin flavor is listed, and no exact protein amount is supplied.
Best for: Owners seeking a crunchy pumpkin biscuit with six natural ingredients and no wheat, corn, or soy.
Not ideal for: Dogs that need soft treats, and owners who want resealable packaging or a specified protein amount.
- Weight:11.04 oz
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Ingredient count:Six ingredients
- Diet type:Plant-based
- Allergen claims:Wheat-free, corn-free, soy-free
- Form:Wafer
- Age range:Adult
- Container type:Bag; reported as non-resealable
Our verdict“Choose Merrick for a crunchy, short-list pumpkin biscuit without wheat, corn, or soy, provided you can manage the non-resealable bag.”
The Farmer’s Dog Human-Grade Crunchy Dog Biscuits, Peanut Butter & Pumpkin
The Farmer’s Dog Peanut Butter & Pumpkin biscuits are the clearest choice in this group for owners who count treat calories: each biscuit contains 9 calories, giving portion planners a concrete figure that Blue Buffalo Health Bars and Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits do not provide. The 10-ounce pouch also gives more food than Portland Pet Food’s 5-ounce pack, while the human-grade claim and development by veterinary nutritionists may appeal to buyers who prioritize those attributes. The tradeoff is a flavor built around both peanut butter and pumpkin, rather than a pumpkin-only recipe like Merrick or Wholesome Pride. The product information does not list the full ingredient breakdown or sourcing details, so buyers who need to verify every ingredient have less to work with. It is described as suitable for all ages and breed sizes.
Pros:- Each biscuit is listed at 9 calories for easier treat budgeting.
- Human-grade claim and veterinary nutritionist development are specified.
- Suitable for all life stages and breed sizes.
- 10-ounce pouch is larger than Portland Pet Food’s 5-ounce pack.
Cons:- Full ingredient breakdown and ingredient sourcing details are not provided.
- Peanut butter may not suit dogs avoiding peanuts or mixed flavors.
- Limited flavor options are listed.
Best for: Owners who track daily treat intake and want a pumpkin biscuit with a stated calorie count for training or rewards.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need a fully specified ingredient list, want pumpkin as the only named flavor, or avoid peanut butter.
- Weight:10 oz
- Flavor:Peanut butter & pumpkin
- Calories per biscuit:9
- Age range:All life stages
- Breed size:All breed sizes
- Item form:Chewable
- Ingredient claim:Human-grade
- Container type:Pouch
Our verdict“Choose this option when a stated 9 calories per biscuit matters more than a fully detailed ingredient list.”
Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits Dog Treats, Pumpkin, 16 oz
Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscuits combine a pumpkin-only flavor with a 16-ounce bag, making them a practical pick for homes that go through biscuits regularly and prefer not to buy a peanut-butter blend. The product description calls the recipe a six-ingredient formula and names pumpkin and whole wheat flour, while the listed claims exclude corn and soy. Unlike Portland Pet Food’s grain-free treats, this biscuit contains grains, so it will not suit every restricted diet. Its bone shape and crunchy texture are described as helping clean teeth during chewing, though that does not replace dental care. Compared with Merrick’s 11-ounce pumpkin biscuits, Wholesome Pride offers a larger package and a stated digestive-health focus, but it does not provide calorie information. Choose it for quantity and a straightforward pumpkin profile, not for grain avoidance or tightly measured treat portions.
Pros:- 16-ounce bag provides more quantity than Merrick’s 11-ounce pumpkin biscuits.
- Pumpkin-only flavor avoids the peanut butter blend in The Farmer’s Dog biscuits.
- Limited-ingredient description and corn-free, soy-free claims are provided.
- Bone-shaped crunchy biscuits are described as supporting chewing and fresh breath.
Cons:- Contains whole wheat flour, so it is not grain-free.
- No calorie information is provided for portion control.
- Pumpkin is the only listed flavor and may not appeal to every dog.
Best for: Owners of dogs who enjoy crunchy, pumpkin-only biscuits and want a larger bag for regular treating.
Not ideal for: Dogs on grain-restricted diets or owners who need calorie counts to manage daily treat portions.
- Weight:16 oz
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Ingredient count:Six ingredients, as described
- Named ingredients:Pumpkin and whole wheat flour
- Allergen claims:Corn-free, soy-free
- Shape:Bone
- Age range:All life stages
- Made in:USA
Our verdict“Pick Wholesome Pride for a larger bag of crunchy pumpkin biscuits if your dog can eat wheat and you do not need calorie figures.”
Pawmate Dog Treats Chicken Wrapped Pumpkin Biscuits 10.6 oz
Chicken wrapped around a pumpkin biscuit gives this pick a different job from the plain pumpkin options: it is designed as a more substantial chew as well as a reward. The stick form may suit dogs who engage longer with treats than with small training bites, while the listed high-fiber, high-protein, low-fat claims make it appealing to owners seeking a pumpkin-based snack with added chicken. Compared with Bocce’s Bakery Pumpkin Spice, which is soft and chewy for easier chewing, Pawmate is the more chew-focused choice; its description also claims dental-care and calming benefits, though it provides little detail on how those effects are supported. The 10.6-ounce resealable bag is convenient, but feeding portions and nutrient amounts per treat are not specified. Skip it if your dog avoids chicken or needs clearly quantified nutrition.
Pros:- Chicken-wrapped pumpkin biscuit offers more chew appeal than a plain pumpkin biscuit.
- Listed as low fat and high fiber, with no added sugar.
- Rawhide-free and grain-free claims may suit some dogs with ingredient restrictions.
- 10.6-ounce bag is described as sealable for storage and portability.
Cons:- Specific calorie and nutrient amounts per treat are not provided.
- Chicken adds an ingredient that may not suit dogs with poultry sensitivities.
- The dental and calming benefits are stated without supporting detail.
Best for: Owners of small, medium, or large dogs who want a chicken-and-pumpkin stick for chewing and occasional rewards.
Not ideal for: Owners of dogs with chicken sensitivities or buyers who need per-treat calorie and nutrient figures before portioning.
- Brand:Pawmate
- Flavor:Chicken & Pumpkin Biscuit
- Form:Stick
- Package size:10.6 oz
- Life stage:All life stages
- Diet claims:Grain-free, rawhide-free
- Listed uses:Dental care, digestive health, skin and coat health, training
Our verdict“Choose Pawmate for a chicken-wrapped pumpkin chew, but pick Bocce’s Bakery instead if your dog needs a softer texture.”
Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog Treats, Grain-Free Biscuits 3 Pack
Real pumpkin and a short ingredient list make this the most straightforward pumpkin-focused option in this group. The listed recipe uses organic pumpkin puree, garbanzo bean flour, peanut butter, molasses, and cinnamon, so buyers can see what gives the biscuit its character rather than choosing a mixed-flavor assortment. At 12 calories per treat, it is also easier to budget into frequent training than Portland Pet Food’s Variety pack, listed at 15–18 calories per treat. Its grain-free, limited-ingredient positioning may appeal to owners looking for a simple everyday reward, though it is not a guarantee that a dog with food sensitivities will tolerate every ingredient. The three-pack format provides multiple bags, but the listing gives no total treat count, and the pumpkin-only flavor offers less variety than the assortment.
Pros:- Organic pumpkin puree is a named ingredient in the recipe.
- 12 calories per treat suits owners tracking frequent rewards.
- Limited-ingredient, grain-free recipe keeps the listed formula relatively focused.
- Made in the USA and listed for all life stages and breed sizes.
Cons:- Garbanzo bean flour, peanut butter, molasses, and cinnamon may not suit every sensitive dog.
- Pumpkin-only flavor offers less variety than Portland Pet Food’s Variety pack.
- The listing does not specify the total number of treats in the three-pack.
Best for: Owners who want pumpkin to be the main flavor and need a lower-calorie biscuit for repeated training rewards.
Not ideal for: Dogs sensitive to garbanzo bean, peanut butter, molasses, or cinnamon, and households wanting several flavors in one purchase.
- Brand:Portland Pet Food
- Flavor:Pumpkin
- Package:3-pack
- Calories per treat:12 kcal
- Named ingredients:Organic pumpkin puree, garbanzo bean flour, peanut butter, molasses, cinnamon
- Diet type:Limited ingredient
- Life stage and size:All life stages; all breed sizes
- Made in:USA
Our verdict“Pick this three-pack for a clearly pumpkin-led, 12-calorie training biscuit, and choose the Variety pack if flavor rotation matters more.”
Portland Pet Food Dog Treats Variety, Healthy, Grain-Free Biscuits, 3 Pack
Three flavors in one package give this set a practical advantage for households whose dogs lose interest in a single recipe: pumpkin shares the assortment with gingerbread and bacon. That makes it more flexible than Portland Pet Food’s Pumpkin Dog Treats, which keep the flavor and calorie count focused on pumpkin at 12 calories per treat. This variety pack is listed at 15–18 calories per treat, so owners using treats often may need to account for the higher range. Its grain-free, gluten-free, limited-ingredient positioning and travel-friendly resealable bags support everyday rewarding, but the listed garbanzo bean flour may not work for every sensitive dog. The crunchy texture can also be a poor fit for puppies or seniors who manage soft treats more comfortably.
Pros:- Includes pumpkin, gingerbread, and bacon flavors for rotation.
- Three 5-ounce bags provide separate portions for storage or travel.
- Grain-free and gluten-free claims may suit some restricted diets.
- Listed for all life stages and breed sizes.
Cons:- At 15–18 calories per treat, it is higher in calories than Portland Pet Food’s pumpkin-only option.
- Crunchy biscuits may be difficult for some puppies and senior dogs.
- Garbanzo bean flour may not suit dogs sensitive to legumes.
Best for: Multi-dog households or owners whose dogs prefer rotating flavors and can comfortably eat crunchy biscuits.
Not ideal for: Dogs that need soft treats, owners tightly limiting treat calories, or dogs sensitive to garbanzo bean flour.
- Flavor assortment:Pumpkin, gingerbread, bacon
- Package quantity:3 packs
- Bag size:5 oz each
- Calories per treat:15–18 kcal
- Named ingredients:Garbanzo bean flour, nitrate-free bacon, pumpkin, xylitol-free peanut butter
- Diet claims:Grain-free, gluten-free, limited ingredient
- Life stage and size:All life stages; all breed sizes
- Made in:USA
Our verdict“Choose this set when flavor rotation matters more than the lower calorie count and pumpkin-only focus of Portland Pet Food’s single-flavor biscuits.”
Bocce’s Bakery Pumpkin Spice Flavor Soft & Chewy Dog Treats, 6 oz
Soft, chewy chunks set Bocce’s Bakery apart from the crunchy Portland Pet Food biscuits, making this the easier format for dogs that struggle with hard treats or prefer a pliable reward. Its pumpkin spice recipe includes pumpkin, peanut butter, oats, flaxseed, and cinnamon, with 13 calories per treat for owners who want a defined portion size. The wheat-, corn-, and soy-free claims are useful filters, though the recipe is not ingredient-free of common sensitivities: it includes peanut butter, oats, molasses, and coconut glycerin. Compared with Pawmate’s chicken-wrapped pumpkin sticks, Bocce’s is less focused on an extended chew and more suited to quick rewards. The 6-ounce bag is smaller than several options in this roundup, and the single listed flavor gives less variety.
Pros:- Soft and chewy texture can be easier to eat than crunchy biscuits.
- 13 calories per treat supports portion-aware rewarding.
- Listed as wheat-free, corn-free, and soy-free.
- Pumpkin is paired with recognizable ingredients including oats and flaxseed.
Cons:- Contains oats, peanut butter, molasses, and coconut glycerin, which may not suit every dog.
- The 6-ounce package is smaller than several bags in this roundup.
- Only the Pumpkin Spice flavor is listed.
Best for: Owners of puppies, seniors, or dogs that prefer soft rewards and need a pumpkin-spice treat with stated calories per piece.
Not ideal for: Dogs that need a crunchy chew, have sensitivities to oats or peanut butter, or households seeking a larger bag or multiple flavors.
- Brand:Bocce’s Bakery
- Flavor:Pumpkin Spice
- Texture and form:Soft and chewy chunks
- Package size:6 oz
- Calories per treat:13 kcal
- Named ingredients:Oat flour, pumpkin, rolled oats, peanut butter, flaxseed, cinnamon
- Allergen claims:Corn-free, soy-free, wheat-free
- Life stage and size:All life stages; all breed sizes
Our verdict“Choose Bocce’s for a soft pumpkin reward, but opt for Portland Pet Food’s crunchy biscuits if your dog prefers a firmer texture.”
Wag Expedition Organic Dog Biscuits with Pumpkin & Chia Seed, 10 oz
Pumpkin and chia seed are the only listed ingredients, giving this biscuit the briefest stated recipe among these five picks. That simplicity may appeal to owners who want to avoid a longer flavor blend like Bocce’s Bakery Pumpkin Spice, which lists oats, peanut butter, molasses, and several other ingredients. WAG also describes the ingredients as organic, non-GMO, and human-grade, with intended support for immune, joint, brain, and digestive health. Those benefit claims are broad, though, and the listing gives no calorie count, feeding directions, or detailed nutrient analysis to help owners judge portions. The 10-ounce bag is a practical everyday size, but there is only one listed flavor and no alternate package size. It suits ingredient-conscious buyers more than owners seeking precise nutrition guidance.
Pros:- Only pumpkin and chia seeds are listed as ingredients.
- Described as organic, non-GMO, and human-grade.
- 10-ounce bag offers a practical size for regular use.
- Listed for all breed sizes and target benefits including digestive support.
Cons:- No calorie count or feeding guidelines are provided.
- Broad immune, joint, and brain-support claims are not accompanied by detailed nutrient information.
- Only one flavor and one listed package size are available.
Best for: Owners who prioritize a short pumpkin-and-seed ingredient list and want a biscuit marketed with organic and human-grade claims.
Not ideal for: Buyers who need calorie or feeding guidance, or dogs whose diets require verified nutrient details from the product listing.
- Brand:WAG
- Flavor:Pumpkin & Chia Seed
- Package size:10 oz
- Form:Biscuits
- Listed ingredients:Pumpkin, chia seeds
- Ingredient claims:Organic, non-GMO, human-grade
- Breed recommendation:All breed sizes
- Listed uses:Immune, brain, digestive, and joint support
Our verdict“Choose WAG for its short pumpkin-and-chia ingredient list, but pick a calorie-specified option such as Bocce’s if portion tracking is a priority.”

How We Picked
I ranked these options around what matters when choosing pumpkin dog biscuits: clearly described ingredients and positioning, texture, package format, and how well each product suits a distinct buying need. I gave weight to practical differences buyers can verify from the product descriptions, such as a 5-ounce bag versus a 16-ounce package, a crunchy biscuit versus a soft treat, and pumpkin paired with other flavors or ingredients. I did not treat a pumpkin label as proof of a health benefit, and I did not assume every dog will tolerate the same recipe.
The ranking favors options with a clear role and useful everyday fit, rather than treating every package as interchangeable. Blue Buffalo takes the overall spot for its larger package and familiar crunchy-biscuit format; Portland Pet Food earns a specialized place for its grain-free, human-grade positioning. Other picks rank for specific preferences—such as soft texture, variety, or added chicken—while package size, flavor combinations, and the need to check ingredients remain real tradeoffs.
| pumpkin dog biscuit | Flavor |
|---|---|
| Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog | — |
| Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpk | Pumpkin & cinnamon |
| Merrick Oven Baked Pumpkin Dog | Pumpkin |
| The Farmer’s Dog Human-Grade C | Peanut butter & pumpkin |
| Wholesome Pride Nature’s Biscu | Pumpkin |
| Pawmate Dog Treats Chicken Wra | Chicken & Pumpkin Biscuit |
| Portland Pet Food Pumpkin Dog | Pumpkin |
| Portland Pet Food Dog Treats V | — |
| Bocce’s Bakery Pumpkin Spice F | Pumpkin Spice |
| Wag Expedition Organic Dog Bis | Pumpkin & Chia Seed |
Factors to Consider When Choosing Best Pumpkin Dog Biscuits
These biscuits differ in more than pumpkin flavor. I’d start with the dog’s eating habits and your ingredient requirements, then weigh package format and how often the treat will be used.
Match the Texture to Your Dog
A crunchy biscuit and a soft, chewy treat are not interchangeable for every dog. Dogs that enjoy a firm bite may take to the crunchy options, while some older dogs or dogs with dental sensitivities may do better with a softer texture such as Bocce’s Bakery. Do not assume that “biscuit” means easy to chew; check the product’s texture description and supervise the first serving. Smaller dogs may also need a treat broken into suitable pieces, depending on the biscuit’s size and firmness. Choose for comfortable eating rather than selecting texture based only on the pumpkin flavor.
Read the Full Ingredient List, Not Just the Pumpkin Callout
Pumpkin is only one part of a recipe, and products in this lineup pair it with ingredients such as cinnamon, peanut butter, chicken, or chia seed. If your dog has a known food sensitivity, compare the complete ingredient list with foods they already tolerate instead of relying on the front label. “Grain-free” and “human-grade” describe product positioning, not a guarantee that a treat is right for every dog. Ask your veterinarian about ingredient restrictions tied to a diagnosed condition or prescribed diet. When trying a new recipe, offer a small amount first and watch for an unwanted reaction.
Choose a Package Size That Fits Your Treat Routine
A larger bag can be convenient when biscuits are a regular reward, but it only helps if your dog likes the recipe and the treats stay fresh before they are finished. Smaller packs can be a sensible way to try a flavor without committing to as much, while multipacks may suit repeat use or provide more than one recipe. Check how the product should be stored after opening and whether the package can be sealed securely. Avoid buying a large supply of an unfamiliar biscuit just because the pumpkin flavor sounds appealing. The best package is the one that matches your dog’s eating pace and your storage habits.
Decide Whether You Want One Flavor or Variety
Pumpkin-only packs make it easier to keep the treat routine consistent, while a variety pack can introduce different flavors. Variety is not automatically better: it can complicate ingredient tracking if your dog has sensitivities or a limited diet. For a dog with known preferences, choose a recipe built around the flavor they already accept rather than counting on a mixed assortment. If you are still learning what your dog likes, smaller quantities can help you compare without leaving you with a surplus. Keep track of which recipe you offer if you are monitoring tolerance.
Treat Biscuits as Part of the Daily Food Plan
Biscuits add to a dog’s overall food intake, even when they are given as training rewards or occasional snacks. Check the feeding guidance on the package and account for treats alongside meals, especially if your dog has a weight-management plan. A larger biscuit may be convenient for a single reward but less practical when you need many small training repetitions. Breaking a treat into pieces can help manage portions, though a very hard biscuit may not split cleanly. For dogs on a therapeutic or restricted diet, ask your veterinarian before adding a new treat.
Pay for a Feature Your Dog Actually Needs
Specialized positioning can be useful when it lines up with a real preference, such as choosing a grain-free recipe because that matches your dog’s dietary plan. It is less useful to pay extra attention to claims that do not address your dog’s needs or your household’s routine. Compare recipe, texture, package amount, and storage fit before deciding that a premium-sounding label is a better match. A larger package can be more convenient for frequent treat-giving, while a smaller one may be the wiser first purchase. Let your dog’s diet and eating comfort guide the choice.
Frequently Asked Questions
Which pumpkin biscuit is a sensible first try for a dog that has never had one?
I’d begin with a small amount of a recipe whose ingredients suit your dog’s established diet, rather than starting with a large supply or a mixed-flavor pack. A simple pumpkin-focused option may make it easier to identify what your dog likes, while added ingredients such as peanut butter, chicken, or cinnamon call for a closer label check. Introduce only one new treat at a time and observe how your dog responds. If your dog has a food allergy, a medical condition, or a prescribed diet, ask your veterinarian first. Being cautious helps you distinguish a preference from a possible intolerance.
Are grain-free pumpkin biscuits the right choice for every dog?
No. Grain-free is a recipe distinction, not a universal marker of quality or suitability. If your veterinarian has recommended avoiding a particular ingredient, check the full label and follow that advice; otherwise, do not assume a grain-free treat is automatically better for your dog. The Portland Pet Food options suit shoppers specifically seeking grain-free positioning, but other picks may fit better if texture, package size, or flavor is the priority. Ask your veterinarian before making a major diet change, especially if your dog has a diagnosed health concern.
Should I choose crunchy biscuits or soft pumpkin treats?
Base the choice on how comfortably your dog chews and what they enjoy, not on the pumpkin flavor alone. Crunchy biscuits such as Blue Buffalo Health Bars suit dogs that like a firmer bite, while Bocce’s Bakery offers a soft-and-chewy format. A dog with dental trouble or difficulty chewing may need a softer option, but a veterinarian can advise if that issue is ongoing. For training, consider whether the treat can be divided into small pieces without crumbling or becoming awkward to handle. Supervise your dog when introducing any unfamiliar texture.
Is a pumpkin-and-chicken or pumpkin-and-peanut-butter treat a good choice for a sensitive dog?
It depends on the dog’s known sensitivities and the complete recipe, so the flavor pairing alone cannot answer that question. Pawmate adds chicken wrapping, and The Farmer’s Dog combines pumpkin with peanut butter; either may be unsuitable if your dog needs to avoid one of those ingredients. Check the entire ingredient list, including ingredients beyond the headline flavors, and compare it with your dog’s diet restrictions. Avoid introducing multiple new treats at once, since that makes an unwanted reaction harder to trace. For a diagnosed allergy or prescribed diet, get veterinary guidance before offering a new biscuit.
Is a multipack better than buying one pumpkin biscuit package?
A multipack can make sense when you already know your dog accepts the recipe and you expect to use it regularly. Portland Pet Food’s pumpkin three-pack keeps the flavor choice consistent, while its variety pack provides a different mix but may make ingredient tracking less simple. A single smaller package is often the lower-commitment way to learn whether your dog likes a biscuit. Consider storage after opening and how quickly your household will use the treats. For a dog with sensitivities, consistency may be more useful than having several flavors on hand.
Conclusion
Best overall: I’d choose Blue Buffalo Health Bars Pumpkin & Cinnamon for a crunchy everyday biscuit in a larger package. Best for grain-free, human-grade positioning: Portland Pet Food’s 5-ounce pumpkin biscuits are the more targeted pick, while the pumpkin three-pack suits buyers who want the same recipe in a multipack. Best for beginners: start with a smaller package of a recipe that fits your dog’s current diet, then offer a modest portion before buying more. Best soft option: Bocce’s Bakery fits dogs who prefer a chewy treat; best for added flavor variety: The Farmer’s Dog brings peanut butter alongside pumpkin, and Pawmate pairs pumpkin with chicken. For value-minded shoppers, compare package size with how quickly your dog will use the biscuits rather than choosing by quantity alone. My final choice would come down to ingredient fit and chewing comfort first, then package format.
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.













